The EUCU Committee is responsible for conducting the day-to-day business of the branch and is elected from the branch membership at our Annual General Meeting (AGM). All positions listed below are effective from June 2022 until the 2023 AGM.

If you are interested in taking up one of the vacant committee positions, please do get in touch with us.


President: Alex Prichard (Faculty of Humanities, Arts & Social Sciences).

Vice-President: João Florêncio  (Faculty of Humanities, Arts & Social Sciences).

Treasurer: Andrew Gilbert (College of Engineering, Mathematics and Physical Sciences).

Secretary: Brian Rappert (Faculty of Humanities, Arts & Social Sciences).

Communications Officer: Alex Fairfax-Cholmeley (Faculty of Humanities, Arts & Social Sciences).

Anti-Casualisation Officer: Michael Flexer (Faculty of Humanities, Arts & Social Sciences).

Academic-related (Professional Services) Officer: Matt West (Research IT)

Disability Officer: Kara Reilly (Faculty of Humanities, Arts & Social Sciences)

Equality & Diversity Officer: VACANT.

Health & Safety Officer: VACANT.

Governance and Policy Officer: Matt West (Research IT)

Membership & Recruitment Officer: VACANT.

Pensions Officer: VACANT.

PGR Officer: Melis Kirtili


Exeter and District Trades Union Council Rep: Rebecca Hillman (College of Humanities).

Penryn Campus Reps (shared role for 2022-23): Elif Ceylan Ozsoy & Jordina Sala-Branchadell (Faculty of Humanities, Arts & Social Sciences).

St Luke’s Campus Rep: Luke Pilling (Faculty of Health and Life Sciences.

H&S Workload Rep: VACANT

Union Learning Rep: VACANT

Truro Campus Rep: VACANT.

Workplace Environment Rep: VACANT.

Notice about Faculty, Department and Professional Services Reps

In its previous iteration, the Committee had seven further ordinary members acting as Reps for the five Colleges, the Business School and INTO. This will change due to the university restructure into faculties but no formal decision has yet been made by the branch. At this time the Committee would like to encourage as many members as possible to express interest in getting involved in helping build links between the branch and members (and non-members) in different departments/faculties – as well as representing members’ interests there. The Committee can then hold further discussions about the best way of organising union representation across the university.
Please contact the branch President Alex Prichard ( or the branch Secretary Brian Rappert ( for further information.

List of current Department, Academic-Related and Professional Services reps 

Previous Committees: 2020-21, 2019-20.